What does Knoto do?Knoto uses face recognition to get you the photos you’re in, and automatically send selected friends the photos they’re in.
Who is Knoto for?Knoto is perfect for friends and families who take a lot of photos of each other. You can even set it up so that one friend gets the photos of another — ideal for sending photos of kids to their parents.
What else?Photos that are received on Knoto don’t take up any memory on your phones until they’re saved. So you can send 100s of photos without worrying about blowing up your friends’ phones.
Abner Guzmán-Rivera, Ph.D.
Clint Solomon, M.S.
Erik Learned-Miller, Ph.D.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does Knoto do?
Knoto uses face recognition to get you the photos you’re in, and automatically send selected friends the photos they’re in.
How does Knoto work?
Knoto uses advanced face recognition technology to detect and recognize the people in your photos, and then make sending the right photos to the right friends easy and even automatic. Turn on the friends to whom you want to AutoSend and start taking photos. Knoto also let’s you know when friends have new photos of you, so you can immediately request them.
Can friends see my photos without my permission?
No, no one can see your photos unless you send them. Knoto is private.
Can I see my friends’ photos without their permission?
No, you can’t see your friends’ photos unless they approve.
How do I invite friends to Knoto?
If they’re your Facebook friend, they’ll show up as a Knoto friend too. Or just send them some photos — they’ll receive an email or text with a link to the photos as well as an invite to get the app.
Why should I invite friends to Knoto?
The more friends you have on Knoto, the more photos we’re likely to find of you that you can request.
What else is amazing about Knoto?
If you and a friend both have Knoto installed, it’s easy to quickly send 100s of photos at a time to each other. You don’t have to worry about using up all your friend’s memory because we initially send Instagram-size thumbnails that don’t take much memory. Friends can download the full-sized versions of the ones they want to keep.
Why is it called Knoto?
With AutoSending, your photos automatically know where to go. So we named the company Knoto, which is a combination of “knowledge” and “photo.”
What information does Knoto upload or store?
To assist our face recognition process, we crop out the faces in your photos and upload them to our secure servers (we don’t upload your phone’s entire photo library). Other than cropped faces, the only images we store on our servers are the photos that you send to friends, which we temporarily store in order to give your recipients time to download full-sized versions to their phone. This lets you to send 100s of photos without using up much memory on your friends’ phones.
Can I delete my account at any time?
Of course. Doing so will delete all data and images on our servers.